William Dutch named new Chiefs President

Slate of officers takes office immediately

By Syracuse Chiefs | November 21, 2011 11:22 AM

Syracuse, NY-The Syracuse Chiefs, Triple-A Affiliate of the Washington Nationals, are pleased to announce the election of a new slate of officers for the 2012 fiscal year.

William Dutch will take over as President of the Community Baseball Club of Central New York, Inc. Dutch succeeds Ronald Gersbacher, who stepped down after five years as the ballclub's President.

"It is a great honor to follow in the footsteps of great leaders like Ron Gersbacher and Don Waful as President of the Syracuse Chiefs," said Dutch. "I am looking forward to building upon more than fifty years of success and leading this franchise into a very exciting future with the many improvements we have in store for 2012 and beyond."

The full slate of officers elected by the 25-person board is:
Charles Rich - Chairman of the Board
William Dutch - President
Patricia Campbell - Vice President
Alfred Matt - Vice President
Joseph LaGuardia - Treasurer
Jay Wason, Jr. - Asst. Treasurer
Douglas Logan - Secretary

Each officer will serve a one-year term in office as dictated by the bylaws of the corporation.

The Chiefs will open the 2012 season on Thursday, April 5 against the Rochester Red Wings at Alliance Bank Stadium.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More