BayBears break through for first win in series

Bullpen holds Pensacola hitless for final 4 2/3 innings

By Mobile BayBears | June 16, 2018 10:52 PM

PENSACOLA, Fla. (June 16, 2018) - The Mobile BayBears, the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels, broke a 1-1 tie in the sixth inning and never looked back, capturing their first win in the series against the Pensacola Blue Wahoos 4-1 Saturday night at Blue Wahoos Stadium.


Luis Rengifo , who doubled and scored a run in the first inning, hit another double in the sixth against Alejandro Chacin (0-1). The two-bagger plated a pair of runs and gave the BayBears (36-31) a 3-1 lead. It was Rengifo's eighth multi-hit game with Mobile.


Joe Gatto worked around seven hits and allowed just one run with six strikeouts in a no-decision. Adrian Almeida (2-1), Matt Custred , and Tyler Stevens combined to hold Pensacola (30-37) hitless over 4 2/3 innings. Only two batters reached base in the final five frames, with a hit-by-pitch and a walk.


Aristides Aquino provided the only run for the Blue Wahoos, courtesy of his team-high ninth home run in the fourth inning. He is scheduled to participate in the Southern League Home Run Derby Tuesday in Birmingham.


The BayBears wrap up the five-game road series against Pensacola Sunday at 1:05 p.m. CDT. Live coverage can be seen on (Pensacola feed, subscription required, promo code: BAYBEARS) and heard on the BayBears Broadcast Network, the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App, with the Countdown to First Pitch starting at 12:45 p.m.


The BayBears return home Thursday and host a total of 70 home dates through Labor Day, September 3. Single-game tickets and ticket packages are currently on sale. Group and hospitality offerings for the 2018 season can be reserved by calling (251) 479-BEAR (2327).


About the Mobile BayBears

The Mobile BayBears are the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels and play their games at Hank Aaron Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The BayBears were founded in 1997 and have won four Southern League titles in 1998, 2004, 2011, and 2012. Additionally, the 1998 and 2011 championship squads were named Minor League Team of the Year by Baseball America. More than 160 former BayBears have reached the Major League level, including All-Stars Max Scherzer, Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Peavy, Carlos Gonzalez, and Justin Upton. For more information on the Mobile BayBears and Hank Aaron Stadium, please visit, call (251) 479-BEAR (2327), or contact Steve Goldberg via email at


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More