Mudcats, Brewers announce PDC agreement

Carolina's new affiliation agreement is for the 2017 and 2018 seasons

By Carolina Mudcats | September 30, 2016 4:10 PM ET

ZEBULON, NC - The Carolina Mudcats proudly announced today a new player development contract with the Milwaukee Brewers. The agreement is for two years, covering Carolina's 2017 and 2018 Carolina League, Class A Advanced seasons at Five County Stadium in Zebulon, NC.

"Having met with the Brewers, and in looking at their system, we are confident that we are getting an organization that is loaded with young, talented prospects that we feel will enhance our program" said Carolina Mudcats President and Majority Owner Steve Bryant. "We are very impressed with the Brewers in that they share with us a desire to develop young talent at the Minor League level."

Milwaukee's new player development contract with the Mudcats marks the club's first such agreement with a Carolina League franchise. The Brewers had previously been affiliated with the High-A Florida State League's Brevard County Manatees from 2005 through 2016. They were also affiliated with the High-A California League (Stockton, Mudville, High Desert) from 1990 through 2004.

"The Brewers are excited to announce a partnership with Steve Bryant and the Carolina Mudcats," said Brewers General Manager David Stearns. "The organization is committed to developing young talent and we strongly believe that the Mudcats will help us achieve that goal. We look forward to working with our new partner in the Carolina League."

The Mudcats will begin their 2017 season in the newly expanded, 10 team, Carolina League away from Five County Stadium on Thursday, April 6, 2017. Carolina's home opener is scheduled for Thursday, April 13, 2017 in Zebulon. The full 2017 season schedule will be released at a later date. The Carolina League will feature two new franchises next season and three new Major League affiliates including the Brewers, Texas Rangers and Houston Astros.

The Carolina Mudcats are the proud Carolina League, Class A Advanced affiliate of the Milwaukee Brewers. First established in 1991, the two-time Southern League Champion Mudcats are entering their 27th consecutive season of baseball at Five County Stadium in Zebulon, N.C. 

# # #

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More