Five South Bend Cubs players named Midwest League All-Stars

Miguel Amaya, Jared Young, Javier Assad, Brendan King, and Rollie Lacy will represent South Bend

By Brendan King / South Bend Cubs | June 6, 2018 2:11 PM

SOUTH BEND, IN - This afternoon, the Midwest League announced rosters for the 2018 MWL All-Star Game in Lansing, Michigan on June 19. Representing the Eastern Division will be five South Bend Cubs players. Two position players and three pitchers from South Bend have been selected for the honor. 

Catcher Miguel Amaya, infielder Jared Young, and pitchers Javier Assad, Brendan King, and Rollie Lacy will head up to Lansing to play in the All-Star Game. 

Amaya, the Chicago Cubs number 11 overall prospect, has shined at just 19-years-old in the Midwest League this season. In 48 games played, Amaya is hitting .292 and leads the club in home runs with eight, and RBI with 30. 

Young has played three positions so far for the Cubs this season at first and second base, and in left field. In his first full season, the British Columbia native started off hitting over .410 in the first two weeks of 2018. His average currently sits at .272 with six homers, 28 RBI, and a .490 slugging percentage. 

The 20-year-old Assad currently leads South Bend in wins with four on the season. In 10 starts, the Mexico native has tossed 47.2 innings while allowing just 21 runs and striking out 41. His ERA stands at 3.59.

Originally starting the year in extended spring training, King earned the call-up to South Bend in the middle of April. With a 2-1 record in 13 appearances, King has thrown 25.2 innings and has struck out 28 batters. The high strike out numbers are pair with just five earned runs so far. 

Finally, the right-hander Lacy originally started the year in the South Bend bullpen, but has made the transition into the starting rotation. In 11 overall appearances and five starts, the Creighton alum has struck out 49 in 43.1 innings with an ERA at 2.91. 

About the South Bend Cubs

The South Bend Cubs are the Class A minor league affiliate of the 2016 World Series Champion Chicago Cubs. Over the past 30 seasons, the team has won five Midwest League titles, most recently in 2005, and has captured 12 division titles. This year, Four Winds Field, home of the Cubs, was named Ballpark Digest's Best Single-A ballpark. In 2015, the team was named Ballpark Digest's Team of the Year and received the John H. Johnson President's Award, the highest award in minor league baseball. The team is owned and operated by Swing-Batter-Swing, LLC whose sole shareholder is Andrew T. Berlin of Chicago, Ill. 

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More