Rollins, Dancy Elected to FSL Hall of Fame

By Jason Adams / Clearwater Threshers | October 8, 2013 11:14 AM ET

Former Clearwater shortstop Jimmy Rollins and manager Bill Dancy have been elected to the Florida State League Hall of Fame. The 2013 Class will be inducted into the Florida State League Hall of Fame as part of the 5th Induction Ceremony on November 12, 2013 at the Plaza Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach.

Rollins was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies in the second round in 1996 out of Encinal High School (CA). Jimmy joined Clearwater in 1998 at the age of 19 and played in 119 games for the Phillies Advanced-A affiliate. During the season he garnered a FSL midseason All-Star selection and led all shortstops with a .952 fielding percentage.

He reached the Major Leagues in 2000 and has been the Philadelphia Phillies everyday shortstop ever since. Rollins ranks in the Phillies all-time top 5 in several categories: doubles (1st), total bases (2nd), extra base hits (2nd), games (2nd), runs (3rd), stolen bases (2nd), triples (3rd) and hits (4th). The switch-hitting shortstop was named the National League MVP in 2007, a 3- time NL All-Star and a 4-time Golden Glove winner. Jimmy was also an integral part of the 2008 World Series Championship team.

Bill Dancy was selected in the second round of the 1971 draft out of Seminole Community College (FL). The switch-hitting shortstop played six seasons in the Phillies minor league system. A few of his notable on-field achievements include hitting a home run from both sides of the plate in a game, batting .311 for Triple-A Oklahoma City in 1977 and collecting eight straight pinch hits. 

Dancy has over 39 years of professional baseball experience as a player, coach or manager and has amassed 1,670 victories in 23 minor league campaigns. He managed Clearwater in 1992, 1993, 1998, and 1999 and was named Top Managing Prospect in the Florida State League by Baseball America in 1992 and 1993 after winning the FSL championship. He is currently the Minor League Field Coordinator for the Detroit Tigers.   

The 2013 Class of Inductees also includes Pitchers Al Nipper and Ramon Martinez, Third Baseman David Wright, Manager Buck Showalter, League Executives Mike Veeck and Ron Myers, and Umpire Jerry Layne.

The ceremony is open to the public and tickets are $75.00 per person. Please call 386-252-7479, email or visit for more information.

View More