Threshers Win FSL Sports Turf Awards

September 15, 2016 1:54 PM ET


CLEARWATER, Fla. - The winners of the 2016 Florida State League Sports Turf Crew Awards have been announced by Florida State League President Ken Carson. The awards were initiated in 1990, and selection is by Field Managers and Pitching Coaches of the Florida State League. The five awards are Best Overall Award, Municipality Award, and three Florida State League Commendation Certificates.

The winner of the Best Overall Award for the 13th year in a row is the Clearwater Threshers. Their Sports Turf Manager, Opie Cheek, is also named for the 13th time the Florida State League Sports Turf Manager of the Year. The Threshers won the Best Overall Award by placing first in nine categories and second in two categories for the award.

The Fort Myers Miracle are the winners of the Municipality Award, which is given to the best City or County Operated Sports Turf Crew in the League. The Miracle, with Sports Turf Manager Keith Blasingim, has received 21 Sports Turf Crew Awards since 1990. This is the 18th time Fort Myers has won the Municipality Award.

The three teams receiving the Florida State League Commendation Certificates are the Bradenton Marauders, the Charlotte Stone Crabs, and the Tampa Yankees. The Bradenton Marauders won for the fourth time. The Charlotte Stone Crabs have received 17 awards since 1990, with six of those since reentering the league in 2009. The Yankees have won an award 15 times.

League President Ken Carson congratulates the Field Managers and Pitching Coaches for their cooperation and diligence in conducting the survey. Congratulations also go to the Sports Turf

Managers and their crews, and to all Sports Turf Crews in the Florida State League for their hard work, expertise, dedication, and professionalism in providing excellent playing conditions for players and coaches. 

View More