Canadians & Blue Jays extend PDC through 2022

Jake Kerr announces that Vancouver Canadians will remain as Minor League Affiliate of the Toronto Blue Jays for at least next five seasons

Toronto Blue Jays Executive Vice President, Team Operations & General Manager Ross Atkins in Vancouver in support of the C's Foundation & announcement of a four-year PDC extension. (Rob Fai)

By Rob Fai / Vancouver Canadians | January 26, 2018 6:22 PM

(Scotiabank Field at Nat Bailey Stadium - Vancouver, B.C.) - The Vancouver Canadians Baseball Club along with the Toronto Blue Jays Baseball Club have announced a new four-year extension to a Player Development Contract that will extend a working partnership through the 2022 Northwest League season. The agreement was announced this morning by both Vancouver Canadians owner Jake Kerr and Toronto Blue Jays Executive Vice President, Baseball Operations & General Manager Ross Atkins.

The agreement ensures that the future of the Toronto Blue Jays will continue to be developed by the Vancouver Canadians organization which is coming off the 2017 Northwest League Championship, the franchise's 4th since affiliating with the Blue Jays (2011).


The Canadians and Blue Jays came together in 2011 and took the Northwest League by storm winning three consecutive Championships (2011-13) and again this past season (2017). In total, Vancouver has been to the post-season in five of the seven years since joining the Blue Jays organization going 19-7 (.731) overall and 11-3 (.786) at historic Scotiabank Field at Nat Bailey Stadium... Led by Jake Kerr, partner Jeff Mooney and President Andy Dunn, the Vancouver Canadians Baseball Club (2013) was named recipient of the John H. Johnson President's Trophy presented to the most complete franchise in Minor League Baseball. The C's have won this Northwest League distinction four (4) times since joining forces with the Toronto Blue Jays in addition to three Larry McPhail Awards (Community, Marketing & Media) and Executive of the Year (JC Fraser - 2014).

List of Vancouver Canadians to play in Major Leagues between 2011-2017: (20)

2011:  Andy Burns; Taylor Cole; Justin Nicolino; David Rollins; Aaron Sanchez; Noah Syndergaard

2012: Dan Norris; Roberto Osuna; Ian Parmley; Dalton Pompey; Carlos Ramirez; Marcus Stroman; Dwight Smith Jr.

2013:   Matt Dermody

2014:   Franklin Barreto; Miguel Castro; Jairo Labourt; Tim Locastro; Tim Mayza; Richard Urena;

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More