51s Announce Season Awards for 2017 Season

Amed Rosario was named the recipient of the 2017 Mayor's Trophy - the team's MVP as voted on by the fans!

(photo by Steve Spatafore)

By Jim Gemma / Las Vegas 51s | September 1, 2017 5:11 PM ET

LAS VEGAS: The Las Vegas 51s professional baseball team, Triple-A affiliate of the New York Mets, announced today the 2017 season awards for the players. The Las Vegas franchise has been a member of the Pacific Coast League for 35 seasons.


51s President/COO Don Logan announced the following awards: Mayor's Trophy: Infielder Amed Rosario ; Most Valuable Player: Outfielder Dominic Smith ; Most Valuable Pitcher: Right-hander Ben Rowen ; Community Service Award: Outfielder Jayce Boyd .


The Mayor's Trophy has been given annually since 1983 and is voted on by the fans. The previous winners of the Mayor's Trophy:

1983: Harry Dunlop, manager                                                                2000: Greg LaRocca, INF     

1984: Rick Lancellotti, OF                                                                    2001: Chris Prieto, OF

1985: John Kruk, 1B/OF - PCL batting champion                                2002: Luke Allen, OF

1986: Tim Pyznarksi, INF                                                                      2003: Joe Thurston, 2B

1987: Steve Garcia, INF                                                                        2004: Rick Bell, 3B

1988: Joey Cora, INF                                                                             2005: Cody Ross, OF

1989: Jerald Clark, OF                                                                           2006: Delwyn Young, OF     

1990: Joey Cora, INF                                                                             2007: John Lindsey, INF

1991: Jose Mota, INF                                                                             2008: John Lindsey, INF

1992: Jim Vatcher, OF                                                                           2009: Randy Ruiz, INF

1993: Brian Johnson, C                                                                   2010: J.P. Arencibia, C

1994: Luis Lopez, INF                                                                    2011: David Cooper, INF

1995: Ira Smith, OF                                                                               2012: Adeiny Hechavarria, SS

1996: Rico Rossy, INF                                                                           2013: Wilmer Flores, INF

1997: Doug Dascenzo, OF                                                                     2014: Matt den Dekker, OF

1998: George Arias, INF                                                                        2015: Travis Taijeron, OF

1999: Rico Rossy, INF                                                                           2016: T.J. Rivera, INF



Amed Rosario (Mayor's Trophy): The Mets Top Prospect (shortstop) appeared in 94 games for Las Vegas and batted .328 (129-for-393) with 19 doubles, 7 triples (team leader) 7 home runs, 58 RBI and team leader with 19 stolen bases (25 attempts). He was named a PCL mid-season and postseason All-Star and named the PCL Rookie of the Year on August 30. He also participated in The Sirius XM All-Star Futures Game at Marlins Park on July 9.


Rosario reached base safely via hit or BB or HBP in a team-high 29 straight games from May 13 - June 13. He compiled a season-high 17-game hitting streak twice: May 13-30, batted .364 (28-for-77) and June 27 - July 27, batted .416 (32-for-77). He ranked second on the team with 42 multiple-hit games (35 two-hit games; 5 three-hit games; 2 four-hit games) and hit safely in 78 of 94 games.


He was promoted to the Mets on August 1 and recorded his first Major League hit the same day at Colorado. He hit his first Major League home run vs. Philadelphia on August 11 (3-for-4). He has appeared in 28 games for New York and his batting .240 (24-for-100) with a double, three triples, four home runs, 8 RBI and four stolen bases.


Dominic Smith (Most Valuable Player): The Mets No. 2 prospect (first base) appeared in 114 games and batted .330 (151-for-457) with 34 doubles, 2 triples, career-high 16 home runs and 76 RBI. He was named PCL July Player of the Month (batted .385, 42-for-109 with 13 doubles, 8 HR, 29 RBI).


Smith compiled a season-high 19-game hitting streak from June 13 - July 3 and batted .361 (26-for-72) over that stretch. He was the team leader with 45 multiple-hit games (34 two-hit games; 8 three-hit games; 3 four-hit games) and hit safely in 91 of 114 games.


He was promoted to the Mets on August 11 and, at the time of his call-up, he was leading the PCL in games played, hits, doubles and at bats.


He recorded his first Major League hit at Philadelphia on August 11 (1-for-3). He recorded his first Major League home run at Yankee Stadium on August 15 (two-run homer). He has appeared in 20 games for New York and is batting .164 (11-for-67) with a double, three home runs and 6 RBI.


Ben Rowen (Most Valuable Pitcher): He ranks tied for 1st in the PCL in appearances (53) and has been one of the most consistent relief pitchers on the 51s staff. He has posted a 3-3 record with a 4.48 ERA and allowed 79 hits in 62.1 innings pitched and has struck out 52 batters. He posted victories against Sacramento (April 24), El Paso (July 6) and Salt Lake (August 19). In 19 games (Post All-Star break), he has posted a 1-0 record with a 2.42 ERA (22.1 IP/24 H/20 SO).


Jayce Boyd (Community Service Award): Boyd is the recipient of the community service award. He participated in various charity functions, autograph sessions and pre-game events throughout the season.


Boyd has appeared in 88 games and is batting .290 with 16 doubles, triple, 11 home runs, 42 RBI. He has compiled 16 multiple-hit games (11 two-hit games; 5 three-hit games) and recorded a team-high 7 straight hits (official at-bats) from August 18-20 vs. Fresno and Salt Lake. He batted .615 (8-for-13), 3 HR, 9 RBI vs. Salt Lake (August 19-22).


The most valuable player and most valuable pitcher were chosen by the 51s coaching staff and the community service award was chosen by the 51s front office.


The 51s, under manager Pedro Lopez, will conclude the 2017 regular season with a four-game homestand against the Tacoma Rainiers, Triple-A affiliate of the Seattle Mariners, over the Labor Day Weekend from Friday-Monday, September 1-4 at Cashman Field.


2018 Season tickets and mini-plan packages (11, 22, 36-game plans) are available by calling the 51s office at (702) 943-7200.


Official licensed 51s team merchandise is available on the "Team Shop" section of the website.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More