Carroll Leads Large School Softball All-Stars

Preseason standouts to be honored at Winter Baseball Banquet Jan. 24

2019 marks G-P pitcher Sydney Ouellette's third selection to the South Texas Preseason All-Star Team. (Charlie Blalock)

By Corpus Christi Hooks | December 5, 2018 1:09 PM

CORPUS CHRISTI - A contingent of four players represent the Carroll Tigers on the 2019 South Texas Preseason Large School Softball All-Star Team.

Head coaches from 14 Class 5A area schools voted on the all-star team, which will be recognized at the 15th annual South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet on January 24 at the Omni Corpus Christi Hotel. Tickets are $55 and may be purchased at the Whataburger Field Box Office or by phone at 361-561-HOOK (4665).

Vanessa Quiroga won 26 games and posted a 3.69 ERA as a freshman for the Tigers last season, en route to being named District 30-5A Newcomer of the Year. Quiroga's catcher, senior Samantha Gaona, earned all-state honors by the Texas Girls Coaches Association in 2018.

The battery is joined on the preseason all-star team by Carroll crewmates RheaAnn Avalos (second base) and Lindsey Evans (outfield). During her freshman campaign, Avalos compiled a .913 on-base plus slugging percentage and fielded at a .958 clip, which made her the district's defensive player of the year. Evans was first-team all-district and first-team All-South Texas by the Corpus Christi Caller-Times last season. She batted .388, socked 24 extra-base hits, and plated 25 runs.

Both Tuloso-Midway and Flour Bluff are represented by three players. Cherokees pitcher Breanna Reyna was a District 30-5A first-teamer as a sophomore last season. Reyna, a repeat preseason selection, was second-team All-South Texas in 2018. Jordyn Torre and Ysa Esquivel are the preseason all-star team's designated player and utility player, respectively. Esquivel was first-team All-South Texas a year ago, leading T-M in six different offensive categories, including a .487 batting average.

The Hornet faction is made up of seniors: pitcher Kayci Spittler, shortstop Cydney De Leon, and outfielder Madi Hale. Hale was the District 30-5A Offensive Player of the Year last season. Spittler and De Leon were district second-teamers.

As a junior in 2018, Sydney Ouellette went 20-11 with a 1.22 ERA and 187 strikeouts in 183 innings for Gregory Portland. The production rendered Ouellette District 30-5A MVP and first-team All-South Texas accolades. This is will be her third recognition at the South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet.

Ouellette is joined on the pitching staff by fellow repeat selection Karyme Carreno of the Moody Trojans. Carreno was named by the Caller-Times as first-team All-South Texas last season.

The all-star squad's first baseman is Katherine Flores, who led Calallen to a share of the District 30-5A title in 2018. Flores batted .469 and boasted an .864 slugging percentage while going 6-1 with a 1.45 ERA in the pitcher's circle. She was first-team all-district and first-team All-South Texas.

Third baseman Crystal Davila batted .389 and drove in 25 runs as a sophomore for King a year ago. This is Davila's second post on the preseason all-star team.

Rounding out the squad is Ray senior outfielder Brianna Lopez, who racked up a 1.141 OPS for the 2018 Texans.

The small-school division of the 2019 South Texas Preseason Softball All-Star Team was announced Tuesday. Click here for the story.

2019 South Texas Preseason Large School Softball All-Star Team

Pitchers: Karyme Carreno, Sr., Moody; Sydney Ouellette, Sr., Gregory-Portland; Vanessa Quiroga, So., Carroll; Breanna Reyna, Jr., Tuloso-Midway; Kayci Spittler, Sr., Flour Bluff

Catcher: Samantha Gaona, Sr., Carroll

First Base: Katherine Flores, Sr., Calallen

Second Base: RheaAnn Avalos, So., Carroll

Third Base: Crystal Davila, Jr., King

Shortstop: Cydney De Leon, Sr., Flour Bluff

Outfield: Lindsey Evans, Sr., Carroll; Madi Hale, Sr., Flour Bluff; Brianna Lopez, Sr., Ray

DP: Jordyn Torre, Jr., Tuloso-Midway

Utility: Ysa Esquivel, Jr., Tuloso-Midway

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More