WSSU Baseball to open eighth season at BB&T Ballpark

Rams will host 35 games at the home of the Dash

Winston-Salem State's baseball program has won six CIAA championships in the last seven years. (WSSU Athletics)

By Winston-Salem Dash | February 2, 2018 11:24 AM ET

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. (Feb. 2, 2018) - For the eighth consecutive season, Winston-Salem State University's baseball program will play the majority of its 2018 home games inside BB&T Ballpark, the home of the Winston-Salem Dash. The Rams' season opener is set for this Friday, February 2, in downtown Winston-Salem against Millersville.

Winston-Salem State has claimed six of the last seven Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) championships. Last year, the Rams posted a 39-19 record and earned another CIAA title, while falling just one game short of advancing to the NCAA Division II College World Series. 

WSSU enters 2018 as the number 37 team in Division II, according to the Collegiate Baseball Newspaper. Under eight-year head coach Kevin Ritsche, the Rams have compiled 30 or more wins every season.

Tickets for all Rams games at BB&T Ballpark are $5. Fans can purchase their seats on gameday at the Baker Roofing Box Office, which is located under the scoreboard in right-center field. Outside food and beverages are not permitted, but concession stands will be open.

"It has been exciting to watch Winston-Salem State's baseball program thrive at BB&T Ballpark," Dash President CJ Johnson said. "We encourage all our Dash fans to come out and support the Rams this season."

All Winston-Salem State games at BB&T Ballpark will take place from February through early April. The full slate is available below, with game dates and times subject to change (* = doubleheader):

Friday, February 2 - 4 p.m. vs. Millersville
Saturday, February 3 - 1 p.m. vs. Millersville*
Saturday, February 10 - 1 p.m. vs. Concord*
Sunday, February 11 - 1 p.m. vs. Concord
Tuesday, February 13 - 5 p.m. vs. Tusculum
Saturday, February 17 - 1 p.m. vs. Post*
Sunday, February 18 - 1 p.m. vs. Post
Saturday, February 24 - 1 p.m. vs. Glenville State*
Sunday, February 25 - 1 p.m. vs. Glenville State
Tuesday, February 27 - 6 p.m. vs. Wheeling Jesuit
Wednesday, February 28 - 6 p.m. vs. Wheeling Jesuit
Saturday, March 3 - 1 p.m. vs. USciences*
Sunday, March 4 - 1 p.m. vs. USciences
Tuesday, March 6 - 5 p.m. vs. Saint Rose
Wednesday, March 7 - 5 p.m. vs. Saint Rose
Saturday, March 10 - 1 p.m. vs. Indiana (Pa.)*
Sunday, March 11 - 1 p.m. vs. Indiana (Pa.)*
Tuesday, March 13 - 5 p.m. vs. Jefferson
Wednesday, March 14 - 5 p.m. vs. Jefferson
Friday, March 16 - 4 p.m. vs. UNC Pembroke*
Wednesday, March 28 - 6 p.m. vs. Belmont Abbey
Thursday, March 29 - 6 p.m. vs. Piedmont International
Friday, March 30 - 6 p.m. vs. Piedmont International
Sunday, April 8 - 1 p.m. vs. Bluefield State*
Sunday, April 29 - 1 p.m. vs. St. Augustine's*

Full details on Winston-Salem State baseball, including the Rams' roster, schedule and much more, are available here.

The Dash return to BB&T Ballpark on Thursday, April 12, and single-game tickets for Winston-Salem's 70-game home schedule are on sale now. To guarantee your seats, call (336) 714-2287 or visit

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More