I-Cubs and Express Split Twin Bill

DES MOINES, IOWA - APRIL 22: The Iowa Cubs play against the Memphis Redbirds at Principal Park on Sunday, April 22, 2018 in Des Moines, Iowa. (Dylan Heuer)

By Iowa Cubs | May 14, 2018 6:49 PM

DES MOINES, IA - The Iowa Cubs (12-24) and the Round Rock Express (15-24) split a twin bill, Monday at Principal Park. The E-Train took over in Game 1, running over the I-Cubs 11-2. It was the first time Iowa had given up 10-plus runs in a game. Iowa bounced back to take Game 2, 6-4.

A four-run second in the early game put the Express on top to stay. Cameron Rupp and Tony Sanchez both cranked two-run home runs in the inning. Leading 4-2, Round Rock shot further ahead with six runs in the seventh as seven-straight batters reached with two outs off Rob Zastyrzny. Iowa was forced to go to the 'pen for the final out of the inning.

Iowa fought back with a pair of runs in the bottom of the sixth off rehabbing Cy Young winner Tim Lincecum, but couldn't close the gap. Adbert Alzolay (2-2) took the loss, allowing five runs on nine hits and one walk while striking out two. Lincecum (1-0) claimed the win.

Iowa captured the first lead in Game 2 as Ryan Court led off the game with a walk and Chesny Young followed with a single. Efren Navarro got the I-Cubs on the board with an RBI single. Iowa would move to a 6-0 edge with three runs in the third and a pair in the fourth. Mike Freeman contributed with a two-RBI single.

Round Rock battled with four unanswered runs in the late frames, but Iowa kept the edge. Jen-Ho Tseng (1-4) lasted 5.1 innings, allowing four earned runs six hits. He captured his first win of the season. David Hurlbut (0-3) took the loss and Anthony Bass (2) got the save with 1.2 scoreless innings.

Navarro was 3-for-3 with a run and two RBI in Game 2. Young boosted the offensive effort with a 2-for-4 game.

Iowa and Round Rock wrap up the series with a 12:08 p.m. game tomorrow at Principal Park. For more information or tickets, visit www.iowacubs.com.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More