2012 PCL All-Star Team Announced

June 28, 2012 9:02 AM

The Pacific Coast League today announced its 2012 All-Star team, comprised of players from each of the 16 PCL clubs. The PCL All-Stars will take on their International League counterparts in the 25th annual Triple-A All-Star Game, set for Wednesday, July 11th, at Coca-Cola Field in Buffalo, New York. The matchup will be broadcast live on MLB Network, the American Forces Network, and the Triple-A All-Star Game Radio Network.

Marty Brown of the Las Vegas 51s will manage the PCL All-Star club, which features 30 of the top hitters and pitchers in Minor League Baseball. Thirteen players were elected to the squad by the balloting of the club's field managers and general managers, members of the media, and online fan voting, while 17 were selected by the Pacific Coast League office.

The PCL starting infield will include Oklahoma City RedHawks first baseman Mike Hessman, who has smashed a league-leading 23 home runs on the season, second baseman Jake Elmore of the Reno Aces, the PCL's batting leader with a .390 average, and his Reno teammate Ryan Wheeler at the hot corner, who has a league-leading 72 RBIs. The starting outfield consists of Reno's Adam Eaton, who holds a .388 batting average of his own, Andrew Brown of the Colorado Springs Sky Sox, who returns to the All-Star Game for the second year in a row, and 21-year-old Wil Myers of the Omaha Storm Chasers, owner of a .638 slugging percentage since arriving in the PCL. The starting pitcher for the game will be Graham Godfrey of the Sacramento River Cats, who is a perfect 7-0 with a 2.18 ERA in 11 starts.

Also elected to the squad were shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria of the Las Vegas 51s, catcher Tim Federowicz and relief pitcher Josh Wall of the Albuquerque Isotopes, designated hitter Luis Jimenez of the Tacoma Rainiers, and starting pitcher Eric Hacker and relief pitcher Heath Hembree, both of the Fresno Grizzlies.

The selected reserve players include first baseman Clint Robinson, starting pitcher Ryan Verdugo, and relief pitcher Tommy Hottovy, all representing Omaha, infielder Luis Cruz and starting pitcher John Ely of Albuquerque, and infielder Jimmy Paredes and catcher Landon Powell of Oklahoma City. Rounding out the selections are infielder Josh Vitters of Iowa, outfielder Joey Butler of Round Rock, outfielder Kole Calhoun of Salt Lake, outfielder Daniel Robertson of Tucson, catcher Guillermo Quiroz of Tacoma, relief pitcher Jonathan Albaladejo of Reno, starting pitcher Tom Koehler of New Orleans, relief pitcher Chad Beck of Las Vegas, relief pitcher Jim Henderson of Nashville, and relief pitcher Barret Browning of Memphis.

With the International League's 3-0 victory at last year's Triple-A All-Star Game, the IL owns an 8-6 lead in the fourteen years since the event changed to the current IL vs. PCL format. The winning League this season will once again earn the right to have its champion play as the "home team" at the Gildan Triple-A National Championship Game which will take place Tuesday, September 18 in Durham, North Carolina.

To download the full roster, click here.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More