2012 Season Award Winners

September 4, 2012 6:16 AM ET

Beloit, WI- The Beloit Snappers had a pre-game awards ceremony Saturday night recognizing our 2012 Team MVPs, the Harmon Killebrew Award for Community Service Winner, and the 2012 Midwest League Trainer of the Year.

This year the team selected co-MVPs: infielder, Miguel Sano, and starting pitcher, Jason Wheeler. Sano currently leads the Midwest League in home runs (27), RBI (99), and Total Bases (234). He is batting .260 for the Snappers in 127 games with 28 doubles and four triples. Wheeler is leading the Midwest League in wins with 14. He has 27 starts with the Snappers so far this season, posting an ERA of 3.45 in 156.2 IP with 115 strikeouts.

The Harmon Killebrew Award for Community Service was presented to left-handed reliever, Corey Williams. The Harmon Killebrew Award is presented by the Minnesota Twins to a player who shows
commitment to the community through community service and volunteering, as well as having a strong character to lead on and off the field. This award is named for the late Twins legend and Baseball Hall of Famer, Harmon Killebrew.  Harmon exemplified a spirit of giving back to the community that everyone should aspire to.

The Midwest League Trainer of the Year was presented to Snappers trainer, Alan Rail. This award is presented by the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society. Rail was voted in as Trainer of the Year by his Midwest League peers.  

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More