AFL announces 2005 schedule

League's 14th season to begin on Oct. 4

By | August 11, 2005 6:23 AM ET

PHOENIX - The Arizona Fall League, owned and operated by Major League Baseball, released today its official 2005 composite playing schedule. The schedule will consist of 97 total games, with 20 evening games slated.

The Arizona Fall League is set to begin its 14th season on Tuesday, October 4, 2005.

The regular season will conclude on Thursday, November 10th, with a one-game League Championship Game scheduled for Saturday, November 12th at Phoenix Municipal Stadium.

The Arizona Fall League consists of six all-star caliber teams. For the first time in AFL history, two teams (Surprise Scorpions and Grand Canyon Rafters) will be showcased at the state-of-the-art Surprise Stadium, spring training home of the Kansas City Royals and Texas Rangers. In addition, two teams (Peoria Javelinas and Peoria Saguaros) will return to the Peoria Sports Complex, along with one team (Mesa Solar Sox) at Mesa HoHoKam Stadium and another team (Phoenix Desert Dogs) playing their home games at Phoenix Municipal Stadium.

Each AFL team is comprised of five major league organizations working cooperatively. Each organization is required to assign six of their most promising major league prospects to the league.

The composite player rosters for all six teams will be released on Monday, August 22nd.

The Major League affiliations for each AFL team are as follows: Grand Canyon Rafters (Marlins, Mets, Rangers, Twins, Yankees); Mesa Solar Sox (Cubs, Giants, Indians, Reds, Tigers); Peoria Javelinas (Brewers, Orioles, Mariners, Padres, Rockies); Peoria Saguaros (Blue Jays, Nationals, Pirates, Red Sox, White Sox); Phoenix Desert Dogs (Athletics, Braves, Devil Rays, Diamondbacks, Dodgers).

Since the league's inception, nearly 1,200 former AFL players have reached the Major League ranks.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More