Astros groundskeeper Bennett honored

Greeneville's man named Appy's Groundskeeper of the Year

October 24, 2013 4:19 PM ET

Greeneville Astros head groundskeeper John Bennett has been named the 2013 Appalachian League Groundskeeper of the Year, as selected by the league's field managers and umpires. Bennett becomes the sixth different Astros' groundskeeper to win the award and it is the seventh time in ten seasons that the Astros have received the honor.

"I am honored to be recognized as the Appalachian League Groundskeeper of the Year," said Bennett. "However, it would not have been possible without the help of a great crew around me as well as the support of Southern Athletic Fields and the Greeneville Astros."

The 2013 season marked Bennett's first with the Astros. Prior to joining the Astros, Bennett attended the University of Tennessee and served as the Head Groundskeeper for the baseball team at Lindsay Nelson Stadium.

Appalachian League Groundskeeper of the Year, Greeneville Astros:

2004 - Blair Waller
2006 - Joe Skrabak
2008 - Israel Hinojosa III
2009 - Israel Hinojosa III
2010 - Blake Anderson
2012 - Tyler Mittlesteadt
2013 - John Bennett

View More