BayBears pile on runs to win series finale against Pensacola

Ghelfi hits second home run, drives in total of 10 runs in series

By Mobile BayBears | August 12, 2018 10:20 PM

MOBILE, Ala. (August 12, 2018) - The Mobile BayBears, the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels, piled on five late runs to defeat the Pensacola Blue Wahoos 9-4 in the series finale Sunday evening at Hank Aaron Stadium.


With a 4-3 lead in the sixth, the BayBears (59-57 overall, 22-26 second half) scored five runs over the next two innings. Brennon Lund drove in two runs with a triple, and Zach Gibbons hit an RBI single in the sixth. The following inning, Mitch Ghelfi blasted a two-run homer. Ghelfi finished with two home runs and 10 RBIs in the final three games of the series.


Jesus Castillo (8-4) gave up three runs on five hits in a five-inning start. Zac Ryan and Daniel Procopio kept the Blue Wahoos (61-56, 31-18) off the board for the next three frames.


Aristides Aquino hit a solo home run in the ninth inning to set a Pensacola record with his 18th home run of the season. Daniel Sweet also homered for the second consecutive game, his first two at the Double-A level.


The BayBears begin a six-game road series against the Biloxi Shuckers with a doubleheader Tuesday beginning at 5:35 p.m. CDT. Live coverage can be seen on (Biloxi feed, subscription required, promo code: BAYBEARS) and heard on the BayBears Broadcast Network, the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App, with the Countdown to First Pitch starting at 5:15 p.m.


The BayBears return home next Sunday and host a total of 70 home dates through Labor Day, September 3. Single-game tickets and ticket packages are currently on sale. Season tickets and group and hospitality offerings for the 2018 season can be reserved by calling (251) 479-BEAR (2327).


About the Mobile BayBears

The Mobile BayBears are the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels and play their games at Hank Aaron Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The BayBears were founded in 1997 and have won four Southern League titles in 1998, 2004, 2011, and 2012. Additionally, the 1998 and 2011 championship squads were named Minor League Team of the Year by Baseball America. More than 160 former BayBears have reached the Major League level, including All-Stars Max Scherzer, Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Peavy, Carlos Gonzalez, and Justin Upton. For more information on the Mobile BayBears and Hank Aaron Stadium, please visit, call (251) 479-BEAR (2327), or contact Steve Goldberg via email at


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More