Cuevas voted Arizona League's best

Dodgers' Reed named Manager of the Year on the circuit

By | August 30, 2011 4:30 PM

Jose Cuevas led the Arizona League in homers and RBIs and, on Tuesday, was recognized as the circuit's best talent.

The Giants prospect was named the AZL Most Valuable Player and Dodgers skipper Jody Reed earned Manager of the Year honors as the league announced its 2011 Postseason All-Star team Tuesday afternoon.

Cuevas, San Francisco's 29th-round pick last year, hit .337 and led the circuit with nine homers and 46 RBIs in 46 games for the AZL Giants this summer. He's joined on the All-Star squad by Giants teammates Ben Thomas (1B) and Joan Gregorio (RP).

Reds first baseman Juan Perez, Rangers catcher Kevin Torres and Cubs shortstop Gioskar Amaya round out the infield.

The A's Kevin Rojas and the Padres' Yoan Alcantara were selected to the outfield alongside the Dodgers' Joe Winker.

Indians starter Elvis Araujo was named the top left-hander, and Brewers southpaw Manuel Ruiz was voted the top lefty out of the bullpen. Royals righty Andrew Stueve made the squad as the best right-handed reliever.

Reed won top skipper honors after leading the Dodgers to a 34-22 mark in the regular season. Reed and the Dodgers will take on Cuevas in the Giants this week in the Arizona League Championship Series.

The full roster is below:

Most Valuable Player: Jose Cuevas, Giants
Manager of the Year: Jody Reed, Dodgers

2011 Arizona League All-Star Team
Position Players
C Kevin Torres Rangers Texas
1B Ben Thomas Giants San Francisco
2B Juan Perez Reds Cincinnati
3B Jose Cuevas Giants San Francisco
SS Gioskar Amaya Cubs Chicago (NL)
OF Kelvin Rojas Athletics Oakland
OF Yoan Alcantara Padres San Diego
OF Joseph Winker Dodgers Los Angeles (NL)
DH Kevin Torres Rangers Texas
Starting Pitchers
RHP Yoan Gregorio Giants San Francisco
RHP Elvis Araujo Indians Cleveland
Relief Pitchers
RHP Andrew Stueve Royals Kansas City
LHP Manuel Ruiz Brewers Milwaukee

Danny Wild is an editor for This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More