Gorski, Jensen voted top FSL Stars

Mets left-hander leads league in ERA, WHIP for St. Lucie

With 11 wins and a 2.15 ERA, the Mets' Darin Gorski tops the league. (Mark LoMoglio/MiLB.com)

By Danny Wild / MLB.com | August 29, 2011 12:55 PM

Kyle Jensen and Darin Gorski were recognized for their huge seasons Monday as the Florida State League announced its postseason All-Star team.

Jensen, a Marlins prospect who spent most of his third season with Class A Advanced Jupiter, was named the league's Player of the Year after hitting .309 with 22 homers and 66 RBIs in 108 games. Despite being promoted to Double-A Jacksonville, the outfielder still ranks third in the FSL in homers and leads the circuit with a .535 slugging percentage.

The 2009 12th-round pick has been equally impressive in the Southern League, where he's hitting .316 with four homers and nine RBIs in just 15 games for the Suns.

Gorski's dominance has not translated into a promotion, at least not yet, but it did earn him Pitcher of the Year honors. A Mets lefty who made the mid-season All-Star team, Gorski leads the league in ERA (2.15) and WHIP (1.02) and ranks third with 11 wins and 136 strikeouts in 26 outings (20 starts) for St. Lucie.

New York's seventh-round pick from 2009 was undefeated until July 24, when he allowed three runs over seven frames to Brevard County. He was 2-0 with a 1.35 ERA in May and improved on that in June, when he finished 4-0 with a 0.79 ERA in five starts.

Gorski was one of six pitchers selected to the team, joining Dunedin's Nestor Molina and Wes Etheridge, Clearwater's Julio Rodriguez and Trevor May and Daytona right-hander Frank Batista.

A.J. Jimenez (Dunedin) and Sebastian Valle (Clearwater) were selected as All-Star catchers.

A pair of Stone Crabs made the All-Star infield, second baseman Tyler Bortnick and shortstop Hak-Ju Lee, who has also been promoted. Daytona first baseman Justin Bour and Bradenton third baseman Elevys Gonzalez joined utility man Scott Gennett of Brevard County around the horn.

Jensen was one of four outfielders selected, while Clearwater slugger Darin Ruf made the team as a designated hitter after hitting .316 with 79 RBIs.

The team was selected by managers, official scorers and club reporters representing the 12 teams in the league. The full roster is below:

2011 Florida State League Postseason All-Star Team
Position Players
C A.J. Jimenez Dunedin Toronto
C Sebastian Valle Clearwater Philadelphia
1B Justin Bour Daytona Chicago (NL)
2B Tyler Bortnick Charlotte Tampa Bay
3B Elevys Gonzalez Bradenton Pittsburgh
SS Hak-Ju Lee Charlotte Tampa Bay
LF Evan Crawford Daytona Chicago (NL)
CF Robbie Grossman Bradenton Pittsburgh
RF Kyle Jensen* Jupiter Florida
DH Darin Ruf Clearwater Philadelphia
UT INF Scooter Gennett Brevard County Milwaukee
UT OF Bradley Glenn Dunedin Toronto
Starting Pitchers
LHP Darin Gorski** St. Lucie New York (NL)
RHP Nestor Molina Dunedin Toronto
RHP Julio Rodriguez Clearwater Philadelphia
RHP Trevor May Clearwater Philadelphia
Relief Pitchers
RHP Frank Batista Daytona Chicago (NL)
RHP Wes Etheridge Dunedin Toronto
Field Staff
Manager Clayton McCullough Dunedin Toronto
Coach Buddy Bailey Daytona Chicago (NL)
Coach Dusty Wathan Clearwater Philadelphia

* Player of the Year
** Pitcher of the Year

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More