Player Poll: Hamilton breeds excitement

Minor Leaguers love Reds' top prospect's big speed, talent

Billy Hamtilon's consecutive 100-plus steal seasons have earned praise. (Chris Nelson/Blue Wahoos)

By | October 11, 2012 6:00 AM ET

This season, we surveyed hundreds of Minor Leaguers on a variety of questions, from favorite players and post-game snacks to video games and dream teammates. Check back as we find out what prospects really think.

We surveyed 382 Minor Leaguers with the question, "Who is the most exciting player in the Minors?"

All responses were write-ins, and not surprisingly, baseball's fastest man won easily: Billy Hamilton, who stole 103 bases in 2011 and set the all-time record this season with 155, received 12 percent of the vote, besting American League Rookie of the Year shoo-in Mike Trout and Nationals All-Star Bryce Harper.

It should be noted that we suspect many players voted for themselves in this question, so a large amount of players got one or two votes.

That said, Blue Jays outfield prospect Jake Marisnick got some support, receiving a dozen votes, while Twins top prospect Miguel Sano earned seven votes. Two players simply wrote in "me" to vote for themselves anonymously.

Here's the breakdown:

Get Pumped
Who's the Minors' most exciting player?
Player Votes Percentage
Billy Hamilton 40 12%
Mike Trout 26 8%
Bryce Harper 13 4%
Jake Marisnick 12 4%
Oscar Taveras 6 2%
Miguel Sano 7 2%
Andrelton Simmons 7 2%
Jurickson Profar 7 2%
Troy Sniker 6 2%
Mike Olt 4 1%
Francisco Lindor 4 1%
Pedro Zapata 4 1%
Starlin Rodriguez 3 1%
Anthony Gose 3 1%
Jimmy Cesario 3 1%
Manny Machado 2 1%
Shelby Miller 2 1%
Trevor Bauer 2 1%
Danny Hultzen 2 1%
Me 2 1%
Other 2 or fewer 49%
Others receiving votes: Aaron Hicks, Adainy Hechavaria, AJ Ramos, Alexei Amarista, Angelo Ponte, Anthony Ferrara, Anthony Rendon, Manny Banuelos, Bart Carter, Ben Henry, Ben Revere, Blair Walters, Brandon Jacobs, Brett Jackson, Brian Friday, Brook Hart, Brooks Pounders, Bubba Starling, Carlos Correa, Carlos Martinez, Carlos Ramirez, Chad Bell, Chad James, Chris Corran, Corey Riordan, Cristian Villanueva, Dallas Beeler, Dan Remenowski, Daniel Robertson, Darren Ford, David Chester, David Cooper, Delta Clearly, Dixon Machado, Dusty Harvard, Dylan Bundy, Dylan Chavez, Eddie Rosario, Edgar Ramirez, Epie Rosario, Evan Gattis, Gary Brown, Gerrit Cole, Hector Rabago, Hernan Perez, Ian Gac, Irving Falu, Isaac Galloway, Jabari Blash, Jack Wagoner, Jacob Turner, Jae Hoon Ha, James Wooster, Darrod Dyson, Javier Baez, Jesus Adames, Jesus Montero, Jimmy Moran, Jordan Conley, Josh Adams, JT Realmuto, Juan Lagares, Juan Perez, Justin Bloxom, Kendrick Perkins, Kenny Vargas, Kevin Keyes, Kevin Kouzmanoff, Kevin Vance, Kole Calhoun, Kolten Wong, Kurt Fleming, Kyle Hald, Kyle Roller, Kyle Russel, Leighton Pangilian, Luis DeJesus, Luis Mateo, Madison Boer, Marcel Ozuna, Marcus Semien, Mason Williams, Matt Adams, Matt den Dekker, Matt Gedman, Matt Kenelly, Matt Skole, Michael Early, Michael Hashem, Michael Taylor, Mike Brady, Mike Miller, Mike O'Neill, Mikey O'Brien, Nick Buss, Nick Hanson, Nick Martini, Nik Turley, Nolan Arenado, Oduber Herrera, Packy Elkins, Paul Demny, Porfilio Martinez, Rafael Ynoa, Raul Reyes, Richard Bielski, Robert Maddox, Roman Quinn, Ryan O'Rourke, Ryan Wright, Sal Romano, Sam Freeman, Santiado Chirino, Scooter Gennett, Scott Snodgress, Sean Buckely, Slade Heathcott, Spencer Dickinson, Stephan Gartrell, Stephen Hunt, Tim Shibiya, Tomas Telis, Tommy Joseph, Tyler Collins, Tyler Thornburg, Vance Albitz, Vinnie Difario, Wade Moore, Yadier Rivera, Yan Gomes, Christian Yelich, Zach Miner, Zack Wheeler.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More