Sports Turf Managers of the Year

Alley, Phipps, Burgess, Hinojosa receiving awards at Baseball Winter Meetings

Albuquerque's Jarad Alley was named Triple-A Sports Turf Managers of the Year. (Albuquerque Isotopes)

By Minor League Baseball | November 3, 2008 10:00 AM ET

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -- Jarad Alley (Triple-A), Brock Phipps (Double-A), Greg Burgess (Class A) and Israel Hinojosa III (Short-Season/Rookie) have been named classification winners in the annual Sports Turf Managers of the Year Awards, sponsored by the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA). The classification honorees, chosen from the league winners, will be honored at the Baseball Winter Meetings™ next month at the Las Vegas Hilton.

Alley, who tends to Isotopes Park in Albuquerque, N.M., and Phipps, who oversees the playing surface at Hammons Field in Springfield, Mo., were also their respective league's winner in 2007. Fluor Field at the West End, the home of the Greenville Drive, is where Burgess plies his trade. Hinojosa III made Pioneer Park in Greeneville, Tenn., the best field in the Appalachian League.

The STMA provides educational opportunities and support so that sports turf managers can provide the best sports surfaces for all levels of play. Sports turf managers are experts on the field and partners of the game.

Opie Cheek is the Florida State League winner for the fifth straight year. Jake Tyler took home International League honors for the third consecutive season. Eric Blanton (Eastern League) and Chris Ball (Carolina League) are repeat winners from 2007. The league winners:

ILJake TylerToledo
PCLJarad AlleyAlbuquerque
MEXMartin Vidal MirandaMexico City
ELEric BlantonNew Hampshire
SOUMatt TaylorMississippi
TEXBrock PhippsSpringfield
CALLance Motch, JrSan Jose
CARChris BallMyrtle Beach
FSLOpie CheekClearwater
MWLEddie WarczakWisconsin
SALGreg BurgessGreenville
NYPLDan StrickoMahoning Valley
NWLBrennan PrestleySpokane
APPIsrael Hinojosa IIIGreeneville
PIONephi PetersonOrem
GCLChris ConnellGCL Yankees

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More