Sea Dogs Merchandise Remains a Top Seller in MiLB

Sea Dogs Logo among the Top Selling in MiLB for 21st Straight Season

May 5, 2014 3:06 PM ET

Portland, Maine - Minor League Baseball released their annual list of the Top 25 teams in merchandise sales for the 2013 season. For the 21st straight season, the Portland Sea Dogs were among the Top 25 teams out of 160 Minor League Baseball clubs.

The Sea Dogs have made the list every year of the franchises existence including 1993 when the team had yet to a play a game. The Sea Dogs and the Durham Bulls are the only two teams to make the list of top 25 teams every year since 1993.

The popular Sea Dogs logo which features team mascot Slugger; a loveable but fierce seal busting through a "P" with a bat in its mouth has remained virtually unchanged in the franchises 21 seasons. The only change to the logo occurred at the end of the 2002 season when the team altered the color from teal to red when the organization switched affiliations from the Florida Marlins to the Boston Red Sox.

"The logo has certainly been a home run for the organization, stated Sea Dogs Executive Vice President & General Manager Geoff Iacuessa. "The logo works because it has universal appeal; it is well liked by kids and adults alike. It is remarkable that wherever you go you can find someone sporting the Sea Dogs logo."

The Sea Dogs logo was created by cartoonist Guy Gilchrist. Among his notable works is the comic strip Nancy.  

Many of the traditional items such as fitted hats, logo balls, and t-shirts are among the Sea Dogs' best sellers.

Sea Dogs merchandise is sold year round at the Hadlock Field Souvenir Store and online at  

Minor League Baseball announced that the combined totals of all 160 teams topped more than $55.4 million in retail sales in 2013. The total is the second highest sales figure for the licensing program since its inception in 1992 and a 2.6% rise from the previous year. The total licensed merchandise sales, which only trail those from 1994, were calculated for January 1 - December 31, 2013, and are based on the 160 teams in the domestic-based leagues that charge admission to their games. 

The Top 25 teams for the 2013 season listed alphabetically are: the Albuquerque Isotopes, Carolina Mudcats, Columbus Clippers, Corpus Christi Hooks, Durham Bulls, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Hillsboro Hops, Indianapolis Indians, Lake Elsinore Storm, Lakewood BlueClaws, Lansing Lugnuts, Lehigh Valley IronPigs, Midland RockHounds, Myrtle Beach Pelicans, Pensacola Blue Wahoos, Portland Sea Dogs, Reading Fightin Phils, Reno Aces, Richmond Flying Squirrels, Round Rock Express, Sacramento River Cats, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders, Toledo Mud Hens, Trenton Thunder and Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. 

"The Top 25 list reflects the popularity of Minor League Baseball team names and logos not only among all baseball fans, but with casual observers and celebrities as well," said Sandie Hebert, Director of Licensing for Minor League Baseball. "The popularity of our logos is due in part to the fact that our marks are fresh, inventive and most of all, fun. Each team has its own unique identity." 

View More