51s Announce 2014 Season Awards

Matt den Dekker is the recipient of the 2014 Mayor's Trophy!

By Jim Gemma / Las Vegas 51s | August 22, 2014 5:26 PM ET

              LAS VEGAS: The Las Vegas 51s professional baseball team, the 2013 & 2014 Pacific Conference Southern Division Champions, and Triple-A affiliate of the New York Mets, announced today the 2014 season awards for the players. The Las Vegas franchise has been a member of the Pacific Coast League for 32 seasons.

              51s President/COO Don Logan announced the following awards: Mayor's Trophy: Outfielder Matt den Dekker; Most Valuable Player: Outfielder Andrew Brown; Most Valuable Pitcher: Right-hander Logan Verrett; Community Service Award: Infielder/Outfielder Brandon Allen.

            The Mayor's Trophy has been given annually since 1983 and is voted on by the fans. The previous winners of the Mayor's Trophy:

1983: Harry Dunlop, manager                                                                1999: Rico Rossy, INF         

1984: Rick Lancellotti, OF                                                                     2000: Greg LaRocca, INF

1985: John Kruk, 1B/OF - PCL batting champion                                2001: Chris Prieto, OF

1986: Tim Pyznarksi, INF                                                                     2002: Luke Allen, OF

1987: Steve Garcia, INF                                                                         2003: Joe Thurston, 2B

1988: Joey Cora, INF                                                                             2004: Rick Bell, 3B

1989: Jerald Clark, OF                                                                           2005: Cody Ross, OF           

1990: Joey Cora, INF                                                                             2006: Delwyn Young, OF

1991: Jose Mota, INF                                                                            2007: John Lindsey, INF

1992: Jim Vatcher, OF                                                                           2008: John Lindsey, INF

1993: Brian Johnson, C                                                                          2009: Randy Ruiz, INF

1994: Luis Lopez, INF                                                                           2010: J.P. Arencibia, C

1995: Ira Smith, OF                                                                                2011: David Cooper, INF

1996: Rico Rossy, INF                                                                          2012: Adeiny Hechavarria, SS

1997: Doug Dascenzo, OF                                                                     2013: Wilmer Flores, INF

1998: George Arias, INF                                                                                                                                          

          Matt den Dekker (Mayor's Trophy): den Dekker appeared in 93 games for Triple-A Las Vegas and is leading the PCL with a .334 batting average (112-for-335) with 31 doubles (team leader), 7 triples (team leader), 8 home runs, 46 RBI and 70 runs scored (team leader).

          He was promoted to the Mets twice this season (May 26 and August 9). He has appeared in 26 games for New York and has recorded three multiple-hit games for the Mets.

          Den Dekker compiled 37 multiple-hit games for the 51s and hit safely in 64 of 93 games and batted .420 (42-for-100) with 12 doubles in the month of July. He batted .531 (17-for-32) over a 10-game stretch (July 5-17).

          He compiled a season-high 10-game hitting streak (June 22 - July 3) and batted .410 (16-for-39) over that stretch. He also compiled an eight-game hitting streak (July 5-11) and batted .556 (15-for-27) over that stretch.

          He was 4-for-6, triple, walk-off, three-run homer vs. Memphis (June 23); 3-for-4, triple, home run, season-high 5 RBI vs. El Paso (April 22); 5-for-8, two doubles, home run, 4 RBI in a double-header at Tacoma (July 22); 3-for-4, two doubles, walk, stolen base vs. El Paso (July 29); 3-for-4, walk, solo home run at Sacramento (August 4).

          Andrew Brown (Most Valuable Player): The outfielder has appeared 93 games for Triple-A Las Vegas and is batting .276 (96-for-348) with 22 doubles, 61 RBI (second on the team) and team leader with 19 home runs.

          Brown has compiled 26 multiple-hit games and recorded a season-high 12-game hitting streak (May 18-31) and batted .404 (19-for-47) over that stretch. He also compiled an 11-game hitting streak (April 24 - May 6) and batted .419 (18-for-43) over that stretch.

          He was 4-for-6, double, home run, 5 RBI vs. Reno (May 1); 4-for-5, double, home run, 2 RBI at El Paso (May 18); 3-for-4, home run, 2 RBI vs. Tacoma (April 25) and 3-for-4, home run, 2 RBI, five runs scored (tied a franchise record) at Salt Lake (May 8).

          Brown was on the Mets Opening Day Roster and hit a three-run homer off Washington's Stephen Strasburg on Opening Day on March 31 at Citi Field. He has appeared in a total of 19 games for New York.

          Logan Verrett (Most Valuable Pitcher): Verrett leads the staff in victories (10-5 record), games started (26, tied for 1st/PCL), innings pitched (152.0, 2nd/PCL), complete games (1) and second on the staff with 109 strikeouts.

          He has pitched 6 or more innings 13 times; 7 or more innings four times and 8 or more innings three times.

          Verrett's top performances include: at Tacoma (May 2, no decision, 7 IP/5 H/1 R); defeated Nashville (June 18, 5.1 IP/8 H/ 2 R); vs. Memphis (June 23, no decision, 8 IP/5 H/3 R/7 SO); defeated Salt Lake (July 19, 7 IP/4 H/2 R); defeated Sacramento (August 4; 8 IP/3 H/1 R/7 SO); defeated Albuquerque (August 10, 7 IP/4 H/2 R); at Omaha (August 16, lost with 8-inning complete game (3-2), 4 H/3 R/7 SO).

          Brandon Allen (Community Service Award): Allen is the recipient of the community service award. He has participated in various charity functions, autograph sessions and pre-game events throughout the season.

          Allen has appeared in 91 games for Triple-A Las Vegas and is batting .255 (75-for-294) with 8 doubles, 2 triples, 12 home runs and 46 RBI. He has compiled 16 multiple-hit games and recorded a season-high, seven-game hitting streak (June 27 - July 4) and batted .346 (9-for-26), 4 HR, 8 RBI over that stretch.

          He was 5-for-6, home run, 2 RBI at Salt Lake on May 8 and was 3-for-5, double, home run, 5 RBI at Reno on July 10.

           The most valuable player and most valuable pitcher were chosen by the 51s coaching staff and the community service award was chosen by the 51s front office.

           The 51s, under manager Wally Backman, will conclude the 2014 regular season with a four-game road trip to Albuquerque, New Mexico, against the Isotopes, Triple-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Dodgers, from Thursday-Monday, August 28 - September 1 (Labor Day).

           The PCL Playoffs will begin with the Conference Championship Series on Wednesday, September 3 at Cashman Field at 7:05 p.m. between the Pacific Northern Division Winner (Sacramento/Reno) and the 51s (Pacific Conference Southern Division Winner).

           PCL Playoff Tickets are on sale now at the America First Credit Union Box Office at Cashman Field. The box office is open Monday-Friday (non-game days) from Noon to 4:30 p.m. Tickets can also be purchased through Ticketmaster (1-800-745-3000, www.ticketmaster.com). Ticketmaster outlets are located at selected Smith's Food & Drug.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More