Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Double-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Midland RockHounds Midland RockHounds

Athletics Affiliation

Rooted in Midland Playoff Game

In 1999, the franchise entered a new era when the Oakland Athletics became the new Major League parent club. In that same season, in order to create a more unique identity (with a strong West Texas connection), the nickname "RockHounds" was adopted (a RockHound is a geologist).

The RockHounds/A's affiliation has been a tremendous partnership, one which will enter its 21st season in 2019.

The RockHounds have produced winning records in 12 of 18 seasons, have reached playoffs seven times and have won five Texas League titles in the last 12 years - including three straight from 2014 to 2016. The tradition of developing Major League talent is also as strong - or stronger - than ever. Here is a sample of the RockHounds alumni who are current or former players at the MLB level:


Brett Anderson Chris Carter Sonny Gray Tim Hudson Huston Street
Andrew Bailey Santiago Casilla Pedro Figueroa Ian Krol Kurt Suzuki
Joe Blanton Matt Chapman  Grant Green Ryan Ludwick Nick Swisher
Jerry Blevins Nelson Cruz Kevin Gregg Matt Olson  Mark Teahen
Dallas Braden Josh Donaldson A.J. Griffin Anthony Recker Jemile Weeks
Eric Byrnes Sean Doolittle Aaron Harang Tyson Ross Brad Ziegler
Trevor Cahill Andre Ethier Rich Harden Dan Straily Barry Zito


Oakland Athletics Farm System

MLB - American League Oakland Athletics Team Website
Triple-A - Pacific Coast League Las Vegas Aviators  Team Website
Double-A - Texas League Midland RockHounds Team Website
Class A Advanced - California League Stockton Ports Team Website
Class A - Midwest League Beloit Snappers Team Website
Short Season - New York-Penn League Vermont Lake Monsters Team Website
Rookie - Arizona League AZL Athletics Team Website