BayBears announce 2018 initial roster

Roster includes seven Top 30 prospects in Angels organization


By Mobile BayBears | April 2, 2018 7:25 PM

MOBILE, Ala. (April 2, 2018) - The Mobile BayBears, the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels, announced their initial roster for the 2018 season Monday evening.


The roster includes the following players:






Justin Anderson

Michael Barash

Connor Justus

Zach Gibbons

Jesus Castillo

Wade Wass

Hutton Moyer

Brennon Lund

Cortland Cox


Jose Rojas

Brendon Sanger

Samil De Los Santos


Matt Thaiss

Bo Way

Jake Jewell


Riley Unroe


Conor Lillis-White


Taylor Ward


Greg Mahle




Luis Pena




Ivan Pineyro




Jeremy Rhoades




Jose Rodriguez




Dylan Unsworth




Jonah Wesely





A digital version of the roster can be viewed and/or downloaded by clicking here.


Seven players on the BayBears initial roster are Top 30 prospects in the Angels organization, according to MLB Pipeline. The list includes IF Matt Thaiss (9), RHP Jesus Castillo (11), IF Taylor Ward (14), OF Brennon Lund (20), RHP Luis Pena (25), RHP Jake Jewell (27), and IF Connor Justus (30). Castillo and Jewell are both members of the Angels 40-man roster.


Additional notes from this year's initial roster:

  • Seventeen players spent time with the BayBears last season. OF Zach Gibbons played in 79 games, more than any returning player, while RHP Justin Anderson led the 2017 pitching staff with 42 appearances. C Wade Wass was a Southern League Mid-Season All-Star.
  • IFs Matt Thaiss and Taylor Ward were both first-round draft picks by the Angels. Thaiss was drafted 16th overall in 2016 from the University of Virginia, while Ward was selected 26th in 2015 out of Fresno State.
  • RHP Jose Rodriguez is the youngest member of the initial roster (22 years, 7 months). C Wade Wass (26 years, 6 months) is the oldest player. The average age on the team is 23 years, 10 months.
  • RHP Samil De Los Santos, LHP Conor Lillis-White, and RHP Jeremy Rhoades are the tallest players at 6 feet 4 inches. OF Zach Gibbons is the shortest player at 5 feet 8 inches.
  • RHP Ivan Pineyro and IF Riley Unroe both played in the Southern League last year with Jackson and Montgomery, respectively. RHP Dylan Unsworth was a member of the Generals in 2015 and 2016.
  • RHP Samil De Los Santos, IF Connor Justus, RHP Jose Rodriguez, and LHP Jonah Wesely have an opportunity to make their Double-A debut at the beginning of this season.
  • The majority of the roster hails from the United States (18). RHPs Samil De Los Santos, Luis Pena, and Ivan Pineyro are from the Dominican Republic, RHPs Jesus Castillo and Jose Rodriguez are from Venezuela, LHP Conor Lillis-White is from Canada, and RHP Dylan Unsworth is from South Africa. Of the American born players, more were born in California (four) than any other state.
  • Although there are no Alabama natives on the roster, C Wade Wass was born and raised in nearby Pensacola, Fla., and played college baseball at the University of Alabama (2013-2014).

The roster is currently at 25 active players, which is the Southern League limit.


The BayBears begin the 2018 season at Hank Aaron Stadium Thursday at 6:35 p.m. CT against the Pensacola Blue Wahoos. RHP Jesus Castillo is scheduled to be the Opening Day starter for Mobile. Live coverage can be seen on (subscription required, promo code: BAYBEARS) and heard on the BayBears Broadcast Network, the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App.


The BayBears host 70 home dates through Labor Day, September 4. Single-game tickets and ticket packages are currently on sale. Season tickets and group and hospitality offerings for the BayBears 2018 season can be reserved by calling (251) 479-BEAR (2327).


About the Mobile BayBears

The Mobile BayBears are the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels and play their games at Hank Aaron Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The BayBears were founded in 1997 and have won four Southern League titles in 1998, 2004, 2011, and 2012. Additionally, the 1998 and 2011 championship squads were named Minor League Team of the Year by Baseball America. More than 160 former BayBears have reached the Major League level, including All-Stars Max Scherzer, Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Peavy, Carlos Gonzalez, and Justin Upton. For more information on the Mobile BayBears and Hank Aaron Stadium, please visit, call (251) 479-BEAR (2327), or contact Steve Goldberg via email at


View More