Scarsone honored as Manager of the Year

Nashville skipper has guided club to PCL-best 83-57 mark

Photo credit: Mike Strasinger.

By Pacific Coast League | September 2, 2016 2:50 PM

ROUND ROCK, Texas - Nashville Sounds' manager Steve Scarsone has been voted the 2016 Pacific Coast League Manager of the Year, the league office announced Friday. Scarsone becomes the second Sounds manager to be honored as the league's top skipper (Frank Kremblas, 2007) after guiding Nashville to the American Southern Division Championship and a PCL-best 83-57 record.

Scarsone has guided a youthful roster that has featured 60 different players and 178 transactions. Seven of the organization's top eight prospects, according to Baseball America, have appeared with the Sounds this season, with five making the club's Opening Day roster. Additionally, 11 players have gone on to make their major league debuts this season with the Athletics.

The Sounds will record the franchise's second-most wins in their 19-year PCL history, only surpassed by Kremblas' 2007 squad that won 89 games. Scarsone's club has excelled on the mound and in the clutch, where their 3.40 team ERA and 11 walk-off wins both lead the league. Nashville went a season-best 22-8 in May - a month that featured a season-high nine game win streak - to become only the third PCL team since 2011 to record that many wins in a single month. The Sounds are coming off a PCL-best 21-9 August that helped them clinch their first division title in nine years. They will play the American Northern Division Champion Oklahoma City Dodgers in the five-game Conference Championship beginning Wednesday, September 7, in Oklahoma City.

In his eighth season in the Oakland organization, Scarsone, 50, has managed the Athletics' top affiliate for the previous four seasons (Sacramento - 2013-14, Nashville - 2015-16). He has compiled a 717-689 career managerial mark.

The California native had a seven-year major league playing career in which he hit .239 with 20 home runs and 86 RBI over seasons with the Giants, Phillies, Orioles, Cardinals and Royals. He began his managerial career in 2001, guiding the Diamondbacks Single-A affiliates South Bend and Lancaster in back-to-back seasons.

The PCL has honored the league's top manager annually since 1967. Scarsone joins the likes of Tommy Lasorda (1970), Terry Collins (1988), Charlie Manuel (1992), Chip Hale (2006) and Ryne Sandberg (2010) to have won this award. Tacoma's Pat Listach was this year's runner-up.

2016 PCL Postseason Award Winners:

Rookie of the Year: Carlos Asuaje, El Paso 

Pitcher of the Year: Brady Rodgers, Fresno

Most Valuable Player: Hunter Renfroe, El Paso 

Manager of the Year: Steve Scarsone, Nashville

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More