Payton Henry Wins MiLB/Rawlings' Gold Glove Award ® for 2018

Timber Rattlers catcher recognized for defensive excellence

By Chris Mehring / Wisconsin Timber Rattlers | October 8, 2018 1:13 PM

GRAND CHUTE, WI - Minor League Baseball and Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. have announced Wisconsin Timber Rattlers Payton Henry as the 2018 Minor League Gold Glove Award ® Winner for defensive excellence at catcher. Henry, the 6th round pick of the Milwaukee Brewers in 2016, was selected as the top defensive catcher among qualifying players from the ten domestic-based, full-season minor leagues.

Henry was charged with three errors in 801 total chances in 93 games during the 2018 season. That is a .996 fielding percentage. He did not commit an error in the 2018 season until July 16, his 62nd game of the year.

He was also one of the top catchers in the league in throwing out runners attempting to steal. He finished third in the league in that category by catching 46 of 105 (43.8%) of would-be base stealers.

Troy Stokes, Jr., who was a Timber Rattler in 2016, was the 2018 Minor League Gold Glove ® winner for left field after his performance with the Biloxi Shuckers, the Southern League affiliate of the Brewers.

Henry, the #11 prospect in the Brewers organization according to MLB Pipeline, is the second Timber Rattlers to win a Minor League Gold Glove. Michael Ratterree won a Gold Gloves for his play in right field with Wisconsin during the 2014 season. Two other former Timber Rattlers won Gold Gloves after they moved on for the Fox Cities. Hunter Morris won the award as a first baseman in 2012 and shortstop Orlando Arcia picked up a minor league Gold Glove in 2015.

Wisconsin's schedule for the
2019 season has been made available.   Season ticket packages for the 2019 season are available from the Timber Rattlers ticket office, which is open from 9am until 5pm Monday through Friday. Fans may call (920) 733-4152 or 800-WI-TIMBER or stop by the box office at the stadium.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More