Riders unveil 15th Anniversary Dream Team

Special group to be honored Friday-Sunday during 15th Anniversary Celebration Weekend

By Frisco RoughRiders | August 1, 2018 2:54 PM

FRISCO, Texas (August 1, 2018) - The Frisco RoughRiders, the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers, have unveiled the franchise's 15th Anniversary Dream Team, which will be honored during the club's 15th Anniversary Celebration Weekend this Friday-Sunday at Dr Pepper Ballpark.


Each member of the Dream Team has since risen to the Major Leagues, including five current members of the Texas Rangers. The group has combined for 17 all-star selections, five Gold Glove awards and three Silver Slugger honors. The star-studded collection of players was selected as part of a fan vote throughout the season.


CATCHER: Jorge Alfaro (2014-2015)

FIRST BASE: Adrian Gonzalez (2003)

SECOND BASE: Ian Kinsler (2004)

THIRD BASE: Joey Gallo (2014-2015)

SHORTSTOP: Elvis Andrus (2008)

OUTFIELD: Odubel Herrera (2013-2014)

OUTFIELD: Nomar Mazara (2014-2015)

OUTFIELD: Laynce Nix (2003-2004)

UTILITY: Guilder Rodriguez (2009-2015)

DESIGNATED HITTER: Chris Davis (2007-2008)

PITCHER: Neftali Feliz (2008)

PITCHER: Derek Holland (2008)

PITCHER: Keona Kela (2014-2015)

PITCHER: Edinson Volquez (2005, 2007)

PITCHER: C.J. Wilson (2003, 2005-2006)

PITCHER: Chris Young (2004)

MANAGER: Steve Buechele (2010-2013)


Though the members of the Dream Team won't be able to attend the celebration, they will still be honored throughout 15th Anniversary Celebration Weekend this Friday-Sunday at Dr Pepper Ballpark, which includes special tributes to other great players, coaches and moments from the franchise's first 15 seasons.


Each game also features a special 15th Anniversary-themed giveaway. On Friday, the first 1,500 fans receive a t-shirt commemorating the Dream Team. On Saturday, 1,500 fans go home with a "Mt. SLUGmore" bobblehead, honoring four legendary Riders sluggers: Chris Davis, Joey Gallo, Adrian Gonzalez and Ian Kinsler. Sunday, the first 2,000 fans will get a Dream Team card set.


15th Anniversary Celebration Weekend kickstarts an exciting final month of the season at Dr Pepper Ballpark, which runs through August 31. For tickets to 15th Anniversary Celebration Weekend and any other remaining Riders home game this season, visit RidersBaseball.com, call (972) 731-9200 or visit the Dr Pepper Ballpark box office.


About the RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 13 seasons (2005-2017). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg. Since then, the new ownership group, together with the City of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise enhancements, investing over $8 million in a wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including a state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store and the world's largest water feature in a sports facility, the massive Choctaw Lazy River. These enhancements earned the Riders and the City of Frisco Ballpark Digest's prestigious "Best Ballpark Renovation" award for two consecutive years (2015 and 2016). More than 140 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler and Neftali Feliz, as well as current Rangers stars Elvis Andrus, Rougned Odor and Nomar Mazara. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit RidersBaseball.com or contact Ryan Rouillard at RRouillard@RidersBaseball.com.

View More