Cal League Honors its Umpire of the Year

August 23, 2019 1:25 PM

Oxnard, CA - The California League, the only full-season league in Minor League Baseball to honor an umpire, announced its award for Umpire of the Year. The "Doug Harvey Award", named after the 2010 Major League Baseball Hall of Fame inductee, was instituted as an annual award in 2010 and given to the Cal League Umpire of the Year. Mr. Harvey passed away in 2018.

In a pregame ceremony in Akron, home of the Rubber Ducks of the Eastern League, former Cal League umpire, Trevor Dannegger was presented the tenth Doug Harvey Award. Dannegger is in his fourth season as a Minor League umpire. The 23-year old umpire from Ballwin, MO was promoted from the Cal League to Double-A at the end of July. He began his Cal League career after he was promoted from the Midwest League in June of 2018 and he has been promoted every year since becoming a professional umpire.

"Congratulations to Trevor Dannegger for being the tenth recipient of the Doug Harvey Award." Cal League President, Charlie Blaney stated. "Trevor is a tremendous worker and is very approachable which managers and players love. We've been very honored to have him in our League this year. The Cal League sincerely thanks the family of Doug Harvey for lending his name once again to this prestigious award".

Doug Harvey was a Major League umpire for 30 years and umpired in 5 World Series, 6 All-Star games, and 9 National League Championship Series. He was nicknamed "God" by the players because of his strict focus on the rules of the game. Harvey was ranked as the second greatest umpire in history, according to the Society for American Baseball Research, behind only Bill Klem. In 2007, Referee magazine selected him as one of the 52 most influential figures in the history of sports officiating. He began his professional umpiring career in the Cal League in 1958 and umpired in the League for the 1959 and 1960 seasons before moving up to Triple-A.

About the Cal League:
The California League was founded in 1941 by a combination of Major League and Pacific Coast League clubs. The League has 8 teams and plays a 140-game season starting in April with the regular season wrapping up on Labor Day. Over the years, the California League has produced 19 Hall of Famers, 19 MVP winners, 21 CY Young recipients, and has 35 Rookie of the Year awards. The California League has become the premier Class "A" League in Minor League Baseball. See today's Minor League stars on their way to becoming tomorrow's Major League legends taking the field for the Inland Empire 66ers, Lake Elsinore Storm, Lancaster JetHawks, Modesto Nuts, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes, San Jose Giants, Stockton Ports and Visalia Rawhide.

View More