Red Wings unveil 2014 schedule

2014 home opener set for Saturday, April 5 vs. Buffalo

By Rochester Red Wings | August 8, 2013 11:47 AM ET

(Rochester, NY) - Although there is plenty of unfinished business left for the first-place Red Wings this season, the club unveiled their 2014 schedule on Wednesday. Rochester kicks off their 12th season as the top affiliate for the Minnesota Twins on Thursday, April 3 at Coca-Cola Field in Buffalo. Two days later, on Saturday, April 5, the Red Wings return to the Flower City to begin their 18th season at Frontier Field with a 2:05 p.m. matinee against the Buffalo Bisons.

The 144-game slate once again features 72 home dates including 16 games against the Yankees and Red Sox Triple-A clubs. The Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders (Yankees) visit Frontier Field on three separate occasions in 2014 with series scheduled for April 7-9, July 12-13 and August 23-25. Meanwhile, the Pawtucket Red Sox (Red Sox) will venture into Rochester for a pair of four-game series April 14-17 and June 16-19.

The Red Wings are home for several key holidays in 2014 including Memorial Day (May 26), Father's Day (June 15) and Independence Day (July 4). Also, nearly half of the Red Wings home games next season (33 of 72) will fall on weekends (Fri-Sun). The Wings will be home for 13 games in April followed by 18 in May, 13 in June, 15 in July and 13 in August.

The regular season wraps up with a two-game series at McCoy Stadium in Pawtucket, RI from August 31-September 1.

The 2014 Triple-A All-Star Game will be held on Wednesday, July 16 at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in Durham, NC.

Per International League rules, the Red Wings will play each team in their division, the North Division, 16 times (eight home, eight away); and teams in the South and West Division eight times (four home, four away). Rochester's North Division opponents are the Buffalo Bisons (Toronto), Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia), Pawtucket Red Sox (Boston), Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders (New York-AL) and the Syracuse Chiefs (Washington). Teams in the South Division include the Charlotte Knights (Chicago-AL), Durham Bulls (Tampa Bay), Norfolk Tides (Baltimore) and Gwinnett Braves (Atlanta). The West Division consists of the Columbus Clippers (Cleveland), Louisville Bats (Cincinnati), Indianapolis Indians (Pittsburgh) and Toledo Mud Hens (Detroit).

Game times will be announced at a later date but are expected to remain similar to 2013. Also, a complete promotional lineup including fireworks, giveaways and autograph appearances will be announced early next year.


The Rochester Red Wings are in their 11th season as the Triple-A affiliate of the Minnesota Twins. The Red Wings are operated by Rochester Community Baseball, Inc. and have been a community-owned pro baseball franchise since 1957. Rochester's pro baseball history dates back to 1885.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More