The Salem Red Sox announce their tentative roster for the upcoming year on the eve of Opening Day

By Melanie Newman / Salem Red Sox | April 3, 2019 3:10 PM

Eight Red Sox are recognized by Baseball America or MLB Pipeline:

RHP Bryan Mata (6th BA, 8th MLB), OF Jarren Duran (12th BA, 10th MLB), RHP Kutter Crawford (22nd BA, 20th MLB), INF Pedro Castellanos (27th BA, 26th MLB), LHP Jhonathan Diaz (depth BA, 30th MLB), RHP Eduard Bazardo (depth BA), RHP Joan Martinez (depth BA), and INF Garrett Benge (depth BA).

This year's roster represents four countries: Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Venezuela and the United States.

Two Virginia natives will play for Salem, RHP Devon Fisher (Chesapeake) and OF Kyri Washington (Farmville).

The roster, subject to change prior to first pitch at the discretion of Boston, is as follows:



 Eduard Bazardo

Jake Cosart

Kutter Crawford

Enmanuel De Jesus

Jhonathan Diaz

Devon Fisher

Daniel Gonzalez

Dominic LoBrutto

Joan Martinez

Bryan Mata

Andrew Politi

Hunter Smith

Jake Thompson



Isaias Lucena

Nick Scirotino



Garrett Benge

Pedro Castellanos

Jerry Downs

Ryan Fitzgerald

Deiner Lopez

Tanner Nishioka

Michael Osinski



Victor Acosta

Marino Campana

Jarren Duran

Jagger Rusconi

Kyri Washington


The Red Sox will begin the season April 4 against the Wilmington Blue Rocks in Wilmington, Delaware at 6:35 PM EST. Games will be available on MiLB TV, TuneIn Radio, ESPN 1430AM/94.1FM Blacksburg and ESPN 1240AM/93.3FM Roanoke.

The Salem Red Sox are the Advanced-A affiliate of the Boston Red Sox and call Haley Toyota Field in Salem, Virginia home. The team was founded in 1968 and purchased by Fenway Sports Management in December of 2007. For more information on the Salem Red Sox, please visit or contact Melanie Newman at

View More