2018 FSL Home Run Derby Participants Announced

Brandon Wagner to Showcase Power In Front of Home Crowd

By Tampa Tarpons Media Relations | June 14, 2018 4:31 PM

TAMPA, Fla. - A total of six Florida State League All-Stars will compete in the Home Run Derby on Friday, June 15th at George M. Steinbrenner Field. The derby will kickoff at 6:30 p.m. and feature three players apiece from the North and South Divisions.


Brandon Wagner will represent the Tampa Tarpons on their home turf and enters as the leader among the participants with 12 home runs. Daytona's Mitch Nay and Taylor Trammell will also compete for the North Division. Nay has five home runs while Trammell has homered six times for the Tortugas.


Palm Beach's Andy Young leads the South Division competitors with eight home runs. He will contend along side a pair of Fort Myers sluggers in Travis Blankenhorn and Jaylin Davis . Blankenhorn currently is tied for the Miracle lead in homers with six while Davis trails his teammate at five.


Each batter will have three minutes per round to hit as many home runs as they can, with the option of taking a 30-second timeout. Totals reset to zero after each round. The top four totals of Round 1 will move on to Round 2. The two highest totals of Round 2 will then meet in a decisive championship round.


Should a tiebreak be necessary in any round, the players will be given five swings to hit home runs. If a tie remains, the tiebreaker rules will be repeated.


To purchase tickets for the Home Run Derby and the All-Star Game, fans may visit TarponsBaseball.com or call (813) 673-3060. Group packages and special ticket packages, including the "All Star 2 Pack," are also available.


The Tampa Tarpons are the Single-A Advanced Affiliate of the New York Yankees. For more information about the Tampa Tarpons, call (813) 673- 3055 or visit TarponsBaseball.com.


The Florida State League: "Where the Major League Stars of Tomorrow Play Today."

View More