Dykstra Crowned Triple-A Home Run Derby Champ

Las Vegas lefty blasts eight dingers to earn Championship Belt

Allan Dykstra, with his Championship Belt, bested a field of five others for the 2014 Triple-A Home Run Derby crown

By Durham Bulls | July 14, 2014 9:30 PM ET

DURHAM, N.C. - For the second straight season, a Pacific Coast League participant won the Triple-A Home Run Derby, as Las Vegas' Allan Dykstra defeated Omaha's Francisco Pena in the final round Monday night at Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

In front of 10,160 fans, Dykstra hit one home run in the final round to best Pena, who went 0-for-5 in championship round, opening the door for 51s' slugger. On his second swing in the finals, Dykstra launched a long home run deep into the right field seats to claim the 2014 Triple-A Home Run Derby Championship Belt.

The left-handed product of Wake Forest outlasted a field of six hitters, three from the International League and two others from the Pacific Coast League. Reno's Mike Jacobs and Durham's own Mikie Mahtook were the first exits from the competition, as each failed to hit a homer in Round One.

In Round Two, Indianapolis' Matt Hague and Columbus' Jesus Aguilar each bowed out, making it an all-PCL championship after Reno's Matt Davidson earned the title a season ago. Hague provided perhaps the biggest blow of the night, crushing a homer off the Snorting Bull and winning every fan in attendance a free steak taco from Moe's Southwest Grill. His homer off the sign marked the only dinger of the 26 on the night that hit the iconic home run target.

Pena and Dykstra each totaled eight homers to lead all competitors. Hague ended the evening with six total homers, while Aguilar's night ended after popping four dingers.

All-Star Week continues Tuesday with an autograph session and work-out beginning at 2 p.m. at the DBAP. The week concludes on Wednesday, with the 2014 Cree Triple-A All-Star Game beginning at 7:07 p.m. and gates opening at 5:30 p.m.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More