RailRiders and IronPigs' Opening Tilt Postponed

First Round Playoff Series Delayed One Day

By Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders | September 6, 2017 4:20 PM ET


Allentown, Pa. - The SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) and the Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia Phillies) will have to wait one more day to begin their opening playoff series. Inclement weather at Coca-Cola Park has forced the first round of the International League Governors' Cup Playoffs to begin on Thursday, September 7. The full schedule, including announced game times and probable starters, is included below.


Game One:          Thursday, Sept. 7 at Lehigh Valley            7:05 p.m.              RHP Domingo German vs RHP Drew Anderson

Game Two:          Friday, Sept. 8 at Lehigh Valley                   7:05 p.m.              RHP Chance Adams vs LHP Elniery Garcia

Game Three (A): Saturday, Sept. 9 at PNC FIELD                   6:35 p.m.              RHP Jacob Waguespack vs RHP Brady Lail

Game Four (B): Sunday, Sept. 10 at PNC FIELD*                   1:05 p.m.              RHP Henderson Alvarez vs LHP Nestor Cortes

Game Five (C):   Monday, Sept. 11 at PNC FIELD* TBD                       RHP Franklyn Kilome vs RHP Ronald Herrera

* - If Necessary.

 Coverage of Game One on Thursday night begins at 6:35 p.m. on 1400 The Game, NEPA's FOX Sports Radio. The RailRiders (86-55) won their third straight IL North Division championship. The IronPigs punched their ticket to postseason as the wild-card winner on the last day of the regular season, tying the Rochester Red Wings (Minnesota Twins) at 80-62. The IronPigs won the tiebreaker with a 13-9 head-to-head record against the Red Wings.

2017 playoff tickets are on sale! The RailRiders will donate $1 for every playoff ticket purchased to Hurricane Harvey Relief. For tickets or more information, please call 570-969-BALL (2255) or visit swbrailriders.com.


- SWB RailRiders Baseball - The Place to Be! -

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More