Astros crush Pelicans behind eight-run ninth

Buies Creek scores 12 unanswered runs in 12-3 win

D.J. Wilson slides into home safely on Wednesday night in the bottom of the first inning. The Pelicans scored all three of their runs in the first. (Larry Kave/Myrtle Beach Pelicans)

By Zach Bigley / Myrtle Beach Pelicans | August 29, 2018 9:07 PM

MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. (August 29, 2018) - The Buies Creek Astros scored 12 unanswered runs on Wednesday in a 12-3 thumping of the Myrtle Beach Pelicans from TicketReturn.Com Field at Pelicans Ballpark. 

With the Pelicans (60-75, 26-39) leading 3-2 into the top of the eighth inning, the Astros (76-56, 39-24) took the lead off of Manuel Rondon (1-5). With Osvaldo Duarte at first after his single, Bryan De La Cruz singled to center, but a throwing error allowed Duarte to score and tie the game. The next batter, Jake Adams, hit a go-ahead sacrifice fly to right, giving Buies Creek a 4-3 advantage. 

The Astros tacked on in the ninth inning with an RBI single from De La Cruz. Two more runs scored on a throwing error later in the frame. Carlos Canelon then doubled home Buies Creek's eighth run of the game and Jonathan Arauz plated him with an RBI single. J.J. Matijevic made it 12-3 with a three-run homer.

The Pelicans began the game with three runs in the bottom of the first inning against Astros starter Abdiel Saldana. Jhonny Pereda laced an RBI single to score D.J. Wilson before Christian Donahue blooped an RBI hit into right-center field. Jared Young later scored on a wild pitch to make it 3-0. 

A solo homer from Arauz in the fifth put the Astros on the board.

In the seventh, the Astros added on with a Corey Julks sacrifice fly to left field, cutting the deficit to 3-2. 

The Pelicans and Astros meet for the finale game of the four-game series at 7:05 p.m. on Thursday. Myrtle Beach will send RHP Cory Abbott (4-5, 2.73 ERA) to the mound against Buies Creek RHP Peter Solomon 1-0, 2.65 ERA). Coverage starts at 6:50 p.m. on,, the MiLB First Pitch app and TuneIn. 

Gates open early at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday for the Carolina Panthers' Two States, One Team Tour. The contest is also a Thirsty Thursday with $1 Bud and Bud Light drafts, $2 16 oz. cans and half-off Duplin Wine from 6-8 p.m. presented by Celebrations Nitelife, Axelrod & Associates and WBTW. 

The 2018 season is the 20th season for the Pelicans franchise and fourth as the Class A-Advanced affiliate of the Chicago Cubs. For tickets visit, call (843) 918-6000, or visit the Pelicans Box Office.

ABOUT THE PELICANS: The Myrtle Beach Pelicans are the Class A-Advanced affiliate of the Chicago Cubs and play their home games at TicketReturn.Com Field at Pelicans Ballpark in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Since being acquired by a group led by Chuck Greenberg during the 2006 season, the Pelicans have repeatedly set team attendance records and become known as one of Minor League Baseball's most innovative and creative franchises. The team and its employees have been dedicated to making a difference in the Myrtle Beach community, specifically giving back over $2 million in donations, fundraising proceeds, in-kind services and community service since launching the Pelicans Play It Forward Community Initiative in 2013. TicketReturn.Com Field at Pelicans Ballpark has ranked in the top eight in all of Minor League Baseball by Stadium Journey in six of the last seven seasons. The same publication also placed the Pelicans in the Top 100 Stadium Experiences and the best in the Carolina League for six of the past seven seasons. In June 2017, the Pelicans won the 2017 Certificate of Excellence award. On the field, the team has won four Mills Cup Championships, including claims to back-to-back titles in 1999 and 2000, and again in 2015 and 2016. The Pelicans have made 11 postseason appearances behind 13 half-season Southern Division championships, including the first half of the 2015 season, second half of 2016 and first half of 2017. For more information on the Myrtle Beach Pelicans, please contact the Pelicans at (843) 918-6000 or email

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More