Riders rally for another win in San Antonio

Three-run deficit erased, three-run eighth leads Riders to win

By Frisco RoughRiders | May 4, 2016 11:51 PM ET

SAN ANTONIO (May 4, 2016) - The Frisco RoughRiders, the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers, were trailing 6-3 after five innings but stormed back to defeat the San Antonio Missions 8-6 Wednesday night at Nelson W. Wolff Municipal Stadium.

The Riders (19-6) entered the eighth behind 6-5 on the scoreboard. After Eric Yardley (0-2) allowed two baserunners to reach with one out in the inning, Garrett Weber greeted new pitcher Adam Cimber with an RBI single to left that tied the score.

Then, Cimber uncorked a wild pitch that allowed Isiah Kiner-Falefa to cross home and give the Riders the lead. Ryan Cordell drew a walk, and Ronald Guzman followed with an RBI double off the right-field wall. Weber scored a run of insurance, and Frisco exited the frame with an 8-6 lead.

Ryne Slack tossed a scoreless eighth inning to increase his streak to 12 1/3 straight innings without allowing a run. Matt Bush pitched the ninth for his fifth save of the season and second of the series, retiring the Missions (9-17) in order for the second straight night. It was the first time he has recorded a save on back-to-back days this season. Bush is a perfect five-for-five in save situations for Frisco.

The Riders held two leads over the first three innings, but San Antonio raced ahead 5-3 on Nick Schulz's three-run homer in the bottom of the fourth. Juan Grullon (1-0) entered the game the following inning and despite giving up a run in the fifth, he held the Missions scoreless for the next two frames to help enable Frisco's comeback.

Zach Cone went 2-for-5 in the game and drove in runs with a third-inning single and a sixth-inning double. Kellin Deglan and Guzman also had multi-hit nights. Cordell extended his league-best on-base streak to 24 games, singling in the first inning.

With the victory, the Riders improve to 6-0 against San Antonio this season and have won the first two games of this four-game series. Frisco now leads second-place Midland by 3.5 games in the Texas League South division standings, as the RockHounds lost to Corpus Christi on Wednesday night.

The Riders will continue their four-game series in San Antonio Thursday at 7:05 p.m. Frank Lopez (2-0, 3.25 ERA) is scheduled to make the start for Frisco against Bryce Morrow (0-2, 7.36 ERA) for the Missions. Live coverage can be heard on the Frisco RoughRiders Radio Network, on the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App. Dr Pepper Pregame Show coverage begins at 6:30 p.m.

On Saturday, the RoughRiders will return to Dr Pepper Ballpark for four games against the Midland RockHounds. Saturday night will also be Paint the Park Pink Night. Tickets for the next homestand are available now online at RidersBaseball.com, via email at info@ridersbaseball.com, over the phone at (972) 731-9200, or in-person at the RoughRiders box office.

About the RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 11 seasons (2005-2015). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg and Scott Sonju. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing over $7 million in wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including the new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store, and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The improvements made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco "Best Ballpark Renovation" of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. More than 130 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Elvis Andrus, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler, Nelson Cruz, and C.J. Wilson as well as current Rangers stars Derek Holland, Rougned Odor, and Mitch Moreland. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit RidersBaseball.com or contact Nathan Barnett at (972) 334-1976 or via e-mail at Nathan@RidersBaseball.com.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More