Senators 2013 Opening Day Roster is Set

Public workout set for Monday, April 1

By Terry Byrom | March 29, 2013 9:27 AM ET

Harrisburg, PA - The 2013 season is right around the corner and now we know who will be in Harrisburg to begin the season as the Senators roster has been set. Eight of the Nationals top 30 prospects, according to Baseball America , are slated to begin the season in Harrisburg. They are led by number one prospect and returnee Anthony Rendon and another returnee, number three prospect Brian Goodwin.

The first opportunity for fans to see the 2013 Harrisburg Senators is Monday, April 1 as the team is holding a public workout. The ballpark will open at 4:45 p.m. on Monday with the workout beginning at 5:00 p.m. The workout is free of charge. Limited concessions will be available. The workout is slated to last about two hours, weather permitting.

Along with two of the top three prospects, many familiar faces dot the Senators roster with 19 players having played in Harrisburg sometime in the past couple of seasons. Fan favorite Josh Johnson returns to Harrisburg to play shortstop for the Sens. Organizational familiarity is up and down the roster as 23 of the 26 players on the roster were in the Nationals organization last year and 19 have played in the Nationals organization their entire careers. The average age of the current roster is right at 25-years-old.

The eight Baseball America top prospects are Anthony Rendon (1), Brian Goodwin (3), Matt Skole (4), Nathan Karns (5), Sandy Leon (15), Rick Hague (16), Destin Hood (17), and Paul Demny (28).

The starting pitchers are Brian Broderick, Caleb Clay, Paul Demny, Nathan Karns and Blake Treinen. The bullpen arms are Aaron Barrett, Marcos Frias, Trevor Holder, Neil Holland, Ian Krol, Pat Lehman, Matt Swynenberg, and Rob Wort. The rest of the team, by position, are catchers Sandy Leon, Jeff Howell, and Kris Watts. The infield from first to third is Matt Skole, Rick Hague, Josh Johnson, and Anthony Rendon. The outfielders are Brian Goodwin, Destin Hood, and Steven Souza, Jr. Rounding out the club are Justin Bloxom, Jose Lozada, and Sean Nicol.

Listed below is the roster alphabetically by position.

Barrett, Aaron
Broderick, Brian
Clay, Caleb
Demny, Paul
Frias, Marcos
Holder, Trevor
Holland, Neil
Karns, Nathan
Krol, Ian
Lehman, Pat
Swynenberg, Matt
Treinen, Blake
Wort, Rob

Howell, Jeff
Leon, Sandy
Watts, Kris

Hague, Rick
Johnson, Josh
Lozada, Jose
Nicol, Sean
Rendon, Anthony
Skole, Matt

Bloxom, Justin
Goodwin, Brian
Hood, Destin
Souza, Steven Jr.

A new roster, with numbers, will be released on Monday.

The 2013 season and home opener is Thursday, April 4 at 7:00 p.m. against the Bowie Baysox. The home opener includes a Jordan Zimmermann Bobblehead giveaway to the first 1,000 fans, a post-game fireworks show, it's a Thirsty Thursday, and the Senators are even giving away a kitchen sink!  Season tickets, mini-plans, and group tickets are available by either going online at or by phoning the Senators at 717-231-4444.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More