Taylor Wins EL Rookie of the Year

Senators' center fielder joins exclusive group

By Perry Mattern / Harrisburg Senators | August 23, 2014 2:06 PM ET

Harrisburg, PA - The Harrisburg Senators are pleased to announce that OF Michael Taylor has been named the 2014 Eastern League Rookie of the Year. Taylor is the fifth Senators' player to earn the honor, and the first since 2006 when Kory Casto took home the honors. Taylor joins a good company of players that have won the award for Harrisburg, including former MLB players Cliff Floyd (1993), Mark Grudzielanek (1994) and Vladimir Guerrero (1996).

Taylor hit .313 with 22 home runs and 61 RBI in 98 games with the Senators this season. He also stole 34 bases in 42 attempts. Despite his promotion to AAA Syracuse on August 4, Taylor still leads the team in average, home runs, RBI, stolen bases, total bases and runs scored. Taylor went 5-for-13 with three doubles and a triple in four games at AAA before being called up to the Washington Nationals on August 11. The next day in his first career MLB start, Taylor was 2-for-4 with a home run against the New York Mets.

Taylor's outstanding season has earned him numerous awards. He won the Eastern League Player of the Month for May. In July, he played in the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game, where he was one of two United States position players to play the entire game, going 1-for-4 and playing center field. He was also chosen as an Eastern League midseason All-Star, and yesterday was named to the E.L. postseason All-Star team. The 23-year old was selected in the 6th round of the 2009 draft by the Washington Nationals.

The Senators have two home games remaining in the 2014 season: Saturday, August 23 at 6:00 p.m. and Sunday, August 24 at 2:00 p.m. Tickets are available through the Senators' website www.senatorsbaseball.com and at the Senators' box office, open until the end of the game Saturday and at 10:00 a.m. Sunday. The Senators finish the 2014 season on the road with four games in New Hampshire and four games in Portland, finishing the season on Monday, September 1.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More