Shorebirds Fall 4-3 on Walk Off HR

Bridwell fans seven in seven innings

By Delmarva Shorebirds | August 21, 2013 11:22 AM ET

Greensboro, NC - The Delmarva Shorebirds (21-38) scored the first three runs of the game, but the Greensboro Grasshoppers (26-32) came back for a second consecutive game to defeat the Shorebirds 4-3 on a walk off home run in the tenth inning by Colin Moran on Wednesday afternoon at NewBridge Bank Park. 

The Shorebirds scored first in the third inning. Gregory Lorenzo singled, his 105th hit of the year. He reached second on his 34th steal, the most by a Shorebirds player since TJ Baxter stole 34 in 2010. Lorenzo later scored on a base hit to right field by Torsten Boss.

In the fourth, Joel Hutter bounced a double down the left field line to score Creede Simpson, who walked, from first base to stretch the lead to 2-0.

The Shorebirds took a 3-0 lead in the fifth inning. Lorenzo led off with a single. Then, Greensboro starter Matt Milroy issued two walks to load the bases. Nik Balog followed with a sacrifice fly to right field to plate Lorenzo. 

Greensboro scored their first run in the fifth inning. Viosergy reached on a lead off walk and later scored on a groundout RBI by Cody Keefer.

In the seventh inning, the Grasshoppers pulled within a run on a double to right-center by Jose Behar that scored Blake Barber.

Bridwell went seven innings and scattered six hits and gave up two runs. Bridwell fanned seven batters and walked two. In his last two starts, he has a strikeout to walk ratio of 21 to one.

Dennis Torres entered in the eighth inning and held the Grasshoppers scoreless. In the ninth inning, Greensboro tied the game at 3-3. Barber led off with a sharp double to the right field corner. He moved to third on a groundout and scored on a single up the middle by Keefer.

In the bottom of the tenth, Casey Upperman entered. On a 2-1 pitch to the first batter of the inning, Colin Moran hit a walk off home run to right field to lift Greensboro to a 4-3 win. 

The Shorebirds and Grasshoppers play the series finale on Thursday, August 22 at 7:05pm. LHP Bennett Parry is the scheduled starter for the finale.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More